Rose Lerner’s True Pretenses and Sheri Cobb South’s The Weaver Takes a Wife

Very nice reviews

Nooks & Crannies - ’cus they’re perfect for a book lover

I’ve been dithering and dathering (why isn’t that a word?) about two historical romances that I read a while back and that I liked quite a lot. So instead of not writing anything about either I decided to do a short burst of my thoughts on both, together!

Sheri Cobb South’s The Weaver Takes a Wife is a charming read while Rose Lerner’s True Pretenses is one of the more thoughtful romances that I’ve read in a while.

TruePretenses_220Both the stories feature unusual heroes who helped me enjoy the books more than I otherwise would have. Rose Lerner’s True Pretenses features a hero who isn’t rich or titled. In fact he’s the polar opposite: a swindler, who makes his living by thieving. In Sheri Cobb South’s The Weaver Takes a Wife the hero is neither titled nor particularly handsome or sophisticated. What then is the reason for the sway that these heroes come to hold…

View original post 589 more words

Leave a Reply

